fbpx About Vidya Bharati Akhil Bharatiya Shiksha Sansthan | VB Portal

About Vidya Bharati Akhil Bharatiya Shiksha Sansthan

Some committed and patriotic people, who considered education as an artifice to educate the young generation according to Indian values and culture started the first school in Gorakhpur, UP, in 1952. They named this school as Saraswati Shishu Mandir-Temple of the Goddess Saraswati dedicated to the children. Thanks to their zeal, dedication and hard work that similar schools began to be established at other places also. The number of such schools increased rapidly in Uttar Pradesh. A state-level Shishu Shiksha Prabandh Samiti was formed in 1958 for their proper guidance and planned development. Good education & sound sanskars at the Saraswati Shishu Mandirs earned recognition, honor, and popularity in the society. Shishu Mandirs started spreading in other states and within a few years, many schools were established. To manage the affairs in different regions, state-level committees were set-up. The formation of a national body came in 1977 and Vidya Bharati Akhil Bharatiya Shiksha Sansthan was established with its Registered office at Lucknow & functional headquarters in Delhi. All state-level committees were affiliated to this Vidya Bharati Akhil Bharatiya Shiksha Sansthan.
Today Vidya Bharati with its 12,754 total schools is spread across the entire country imparting education to 3,292,896 students. For higher studies there are colleges and Teacher Training Institutes.Extra curricular activities find a prominent place in all institutions and several national, as well as state level awards have been won by students in sports, debates, science exhibitions etc.